Ramblings

First of all, I’d like to wish all the Mothers out there a happy Mother’s Day. : ) I am home this weekend celebrating with my family, as I’m sure many other people are doing in their own special ways.

I was thinking about writing last night, before I went to sleep, and was wondering why everything seems to sound so much better in my mind than when I put it to page. Most of the time, I have an idea and I sort of think it through in my mind; basically going through how it would sound if I were to pick up a pen or open my laptop and write it out. The problem comes when I actually go to do that, after I’ve gotten this great scenario in my head. It just never seems to be as great on paper as it was when I first started.

I don’t know if this is just me, or my mind. I usually get a lot of good ideas when I am about to go to sleep. It’s weird, at night, before I am getting ready to go to bed, I just think about stories. I had a dream a few weeks ago, a really neat dream that I started writing a story (in my head) for. I put some of it down on paper, but it never really lives up to what my imagination came up with. It makes me wonder how Stephenie Meyer did it with Twilight and spawning that whole story from a dream of Bella and Edward laying in the meadow, him all sparkly and her all doe-eyed. Maybe it’s just the editing that helps to do it justice ;).

Anyway, I was just thinking about those things and wondering if this had ever happened to anyone else. I have strange dreams sometimes, but rarely do I even remember them, or come up with a story because of them. But, when I do have them and remember what happened, they seem so rich and vivid; something I just can’t seem to convey myself. It makes you wonder if your imagination and your self-conscience are beating you to the punch and are better than you are!

I don’t really mind, though. Most of the ideas I come up with will never see more than a crumpled piece of paper scene. They will never get flushed out, the characters will never be thought of again, and they will spend eternity with the potential to become something, but that never does.

I’m thinking about posting one of the stories on my About Me page, the one called Specimen E3101. I’ll have to look over it before I do. It’s definitely a long story and one of my (first) cracks at really writing in first person, which is very hard for me to do. I seem to often lapse back into third person when I am writing in first because I am so used to writing that way. Plus, my fingers seem to type much faster than my mind can fix a mistake and then I never notice it until later.

I don’t know if I have a preference over first/third person. Does anyone out there?

About koshermuffin


Leave a Reply

