The Dark Tower: The Long Road Home

Well, since NaNo is at an end, I find myself a little bored. I read a lot, and I do mean a lot, and I one of my favorite series happens to be The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King. Now, I was never a big King fan before I picked up the first book in the long saga, The Gunslinger, and I was very skeptical, but it turned out to be an amazing rollercoaster ride of ups and downs that I had fun riding. The series was imaginative and exciting and I was really glad I picked it up.

As a result, it’s hard for me to find good books I enjoy enough to want to find others like it. It sort of happened by chance with Twilight, I got into some vampire kick and started reading the Sookie Stackhouse series (True Blood on HBO is based off of this series) and after I read all of those, started into The House of Night series by PC Cast. None of them really hold as much sway with me as series like The Dark Tower, Harry Potter, and The Belgariad. Great books!

Anyway, it’s always sad when a series comes to an end. For The Dark Tower, that end was extended into the realm of graphic novels. The first set, The Gunslinger Born, basically told the love story of the main character in the series, Roland. When he was a boy, he fell in love as all boys do, and when love was lost he was lost. Most of the fourth book in the book series is about this story and his first official quest as a Gunslinger, so it’s interesting to see that play out in pictures.

So, in the second one, The Long Road Home, after the love is lost, Roland and his ka-tet (Yes, Ka, my title, comes from this series of work. Ka is destiny) are trying to escape the crazy clutches of the men that work for the antagonist, John Farson, and trying to get home to Gilead. But, Roland is taken over by Maerlyn’s grapefruit, and his friends try and help him escape it.

I don’t know how much input Stephen King has on the graphic novels, but I have to say that they are amazing and whoever hasn’t read the books are getting great tastes of foreshadowing. Robin Furth, I know, is the woman with all the knowledge of this world; she’s written the compendiums of everything concerning the Dark Tower, and she probably lives and breathes it as much as Stephen King does. Jae Lee does amazing, creepy, scary artwork that my mind would never have been able to see when reading the story. It’s just a great concept and I urge people to check into this awesome series.

That was my peace, and my first semi-sort of book review. More like me screaming: READ THE DARK TOWER! haha Even if it is the graphic novels.

About koshermuffin


One response to “The Dark Tower: The Long Road Home

  • thejinx

    Hope you don’t mind but “You’ve been tagged!!”
    Here are the rules to the Game.

    You link back to the person that tagged you.

    Share 7 random/weird things about yourself.

    Tag 7 people and link to them.

    Leave a notice on their comments letting them know you have tagged them. And the game goes on.

Leave a Reply

